Poem: Here’s A Rope: Tie It Around Me | Bedlam Farm Journal

I’ve been in love with Bedlam Farm Journal ever since the PF introduced me to it about a year and a half ago. There is always a brave and uplifting message that lets me know I’m not crazy for viewing the world the way I do. I don’t always get the time to read it everyday, but I sure try to read it when ever I have a spare moment. Tonight there was a lovely poem that touched a deep place in me. I hope you like it too…

Here’s a rope. Tie it around me. If you are drowning. If life is chasing you down the path. If the clouds are gathering over your precious head.

If life seems so frightening.

If the small people are getting you down.

If you have lost faith and they have told you

that the world is an awful place,

and you have no business shining your light in it.

If no one is listening to you.

If you need to be heard.

And you are gasping for air, fighting to live your life.

Here’s a rope. Tie it around me.

And I will pull you up.

Out of the water.

Off of the path. To safety.
Out of reach of the small  people slinging their poisoned arrows into your soul,

to a place,

where they will never find you again.

If you need me, here’s a rope. Tie it around me.

by Jon Katz
Keep shining your light Jon. It’s like a lighthouse for me sometimes.

Original Post: Poem: Here’s A Rope: Tie It Around Me | Bedlam Farm Journal.

About Rachel "Ginger" Lazarus

I'm a post-feminist, ex-showgirl, looking to make a fulfilling life in the country with my fella, our girls, our dog, and "the ladies" our dozen chickens.
This entry was posted in Love, Life, and Family, Worldly Encounters and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

