The return of Blue Damsel

 

This summer, I missed dance. I missed moving my body, feeling the muscles pull and contract. Feeling the music push through me, and my body responding. I missed the women and men that I had danced with. I missed those who drew upon me to help them grow, and those who pushed me past where I thought I could be. I missed creating a vision with costume and make-up.

I missed all of it. So I found a class and went. Just to move again. I met a wonderful woman who had begun her dance career many moons ago with the first pressing of Habbi Ru at the Northern Renaissance Faire. As we so often hear, it didn’t end well for her and the group, with personalities mixing and body type issues emerging, even in the early 70s. None the less, she is a wonderful woman and I was so glad to meet her. It was the last class before summer break. So I asked her to contact me again when she started her new classes.

September had come and gone and I hadn’t heard from her. I thought maybe she wasn’t going to teach anymore, when I received an email from her. She was inviting me to join her and another woman to be in the local production of the Nutcracker. We will be doing the Arabian Dance scene of course. I’m so excited because the dance will be an Isis wing dance, which I’ve never done before. While the choreography is simple, It so thrilling to be working towards a performance again.

And while this may signal my return to performing, I know that I will not likely dance again on the level that I once did. I think much more locally now, in most aspects of my life. The only touring you might see is me with my band The Pigeons. We’re slowly getting to a place where I can share with you just what it is we’re doing. But for now, I’ll be happy with my small dance opportunities.

About Rachel "Ginger" Lazarus

I'm a post-feminist, ex-showgirl, looking to make a fulfilling life in the country with my fella, our girls, our dog, and "the ladies" our dozen chickens.
This entry was posted in Exhibitionism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The return of Blue Damsel

  1. Kate Brown Tharler says:

    Hi Rachel,

    Yeah dance calls me to. I guess my hesitancy is that it can becom all consuming…as we both well remember and I have so many other things going on in my life. Although put some music on and I will be dancing around the kitchen in a heart beat….The Heart of a dancer…

    • I know you have so much going on in your life right now, but soon you might find the time to dance. And it will renew your soul. I miss you, love you, and pray for you and Gary. xoxox

Leave a Reply

