Its a New Dawn, Its a New Day…

Today I start my new job. And while I’m excited to be moving to a new phase in my life, I haven’t thought much about the job itself. Over the long weekend, I spent two blissful days alone. The PF and Eva-girl are visiting Grandma, and my child was visiting Mom. That left me alone to do the thing I needed to do most: Detox.

My previous work environment was full of things that were poisonous. Double standards, deceit, lack of accountability, favoritism. I thought that I was strong enough spiritually to handle the situation, but after a time, it DID wear me down. And I eventually found myself feeling sad, depressed, hopeless. From a JOB. WTF?

So now as I embark on this new adventure, its not so much what will my job be like, but rather, what will my LIFE be like? I’ll be saving two commute hours, so that will free me up in the mornings to do what I hope will become a daily morning blog. And in the evenings things might be a little more 1950’s traditional, with me making dinner before the PF gets home. And that suits me just fine.

One day, there will be no “jobs” one day, Smart Acres will be our own, and there will be lots of work: chickens, sheeps, cheese making, felt and yarn making, bread making, barn open houses. But for now, I’ll be thankful that I found a place to sell my energy and effort that seems to be sustainable, and not depleting.

About Rachel "Ginger" Lazarus

I'm a post-feminist, ex-showgirl, looking to make a fulfilling life in the country with my fella, our girls, our dog, and "the ladies" our dozen chickens.
This entry was posted in Love, Life, and Family. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Its a New Dawn, Its a New Day…

  1. Kathryn says:

    Congrats! Freedom from negativity is a wonderful thing.

  2. Hi, Rachel! You know I miss you? I miss your classes. But I’m so happy to read that you’re doing so well, and I’m doubly happy that you’re blogging! BTW, my husband got stationed in Upstate New York and is trying to talk me into buying a farm. I may be calling you for advice!

    • Oh Angela!!! I love the idea of you on a farm. It definitely takes over your life, but then you realize that things you thought were important maybe weren’t so much. I wish you the best in whatever you choose. And if you do get a farm I WILL come and visit. My guy (The PF) if from New England and I’m sure we’ll be visiting there in the next year or so. xoxoxo.

  3. Yes! ( about the new job, not necessarily about dinner being cooked when I get home) Leave some room for music, please.

Leave a Reply

